Board games, monitors and a cintiq

Advanced game design – Week 44

The board game

This week we made a few changes to the board game.

We increased the number of artifacts on the board, the result was the players broke into up in to two groups going after one of the artifacts on each side of the board.  But this made each group stay on one side of the board as the other artifact was too far away.  Also there was no way to stop the players on the opposite side of the board. We weren’t able to find any solutions to the problem this week.

Playtesting

The board game got play tested by some of the other groups this week. The feedback we got from them was that there was a lack of control and interaction with the other players.  That you couldn’t affect the players on the other side of the board at all. They suggested a more concentrated board bringing each artifact and groups of players closer to each other.  They also suggested a adding cards with three colors and a teleport card to bring the players closer to each other and also make it easier for the players falling behind to catch up. While the rest of the group went to gamex in Stockholm. I was to test one more board game, that I managed to find but when we were about to play it we realized some of the pieces were missing making. So instead I told the group we would play their board game next week when all group members where back.

Upgrades

I upgraded the hardware at home with a new monitor and a cintiq in preparation for the next set of courses.

I bought a wacom cintiq 13hd as I was in need of a more portable tablet, the tablet i been carrying to school before was my intous 3 large that required a separate bag and usually caused problem because of its size.  At first I was worried about the size of the cintiq that it might be too small, but once I tried it out I realized that it was big enough for what I needed it for. The second thing I was worried about was that it might not solve the problem I had with the intous of feeling disconnected or a lack of control of what happened on the screen. But once I got the cintiq the worries where gone.  Other than that it’s a very responsive tablet with no lag that I noticed. It was worth the money.

 

I also bought a new 29” monitor with an aspect ratio of 21:9 making a very wide monitor.  This monitor is meant to replace a 23” monitor I’ve used for a few years. The reason I bought the new monitor was to get rid of the problem I had with colors as I worked in Photoshop I wasn’t able to see right colors with my monitor as it made everything too dark that resulted in my images being too bright.  Another reason was to increase my effectiveness and allowing me to also see resources without having to minimize the Photoshop window each time. The new monitor is really nice and the colors seem to be more correct on the new monitor after i made some minor changes in the monitor’s settings. It’s going to be fun to try the new hardware out for real once ive got more time for graphic work.

 

 

Leave a comment